Waterville Junior High School



Waterville Junior High Vision Statement

The members of the staff at Waterville Junior High School believe that each child is an individual and that emerging adolescence is a unique phase of child development. The staff members agree that exploration, discovery, socialization, and direction occur in an atmosphere of mutual trust and respect. The staff believes it must strive to reach and teach the whole child. They accept a commitment to aid each student to grow and develop emotionally, intellectually, physically, and socially.

The members of the staff recognize the critical aspect of courtesy and the value of humor in the building of strong interpersonal relationships. They recognize the destructive quality of prejudice and affirm their respect for all individual differences. The staff members recognize the need to provide a climate in which students and adults are learners and the attitude for life-long learning is fostered. This climate should encourage critical thinking, reasoned choices, freedom of expression, and the ability to accept the consequences of our decisions and behavior. Staff members understand that a free and just society is dependent upon competency in the skills of good citizenship. The members of the staff recognize the changing nature of the human community, the environment, and the world, and they strive to provide the skills needed to adapt and respond to their changes.

Waterville Schools Mission Statement

The mission of Waterville Public Schools is to help students attain the knowledge, skills, and attitudes they need to achieve personal fulfillment, be responsible citizens, do meaningful work, and pursue lifelong learning.

To achieve our mission we believe that our curriculum should provide all students with a foundation of knowledge, skills, and academic standards, along with opportunities to demonstrate and apply learning in varied ways across all curriculum areas. Curriculum and program offerings should provide opportunities for all students to realize their fullest potential and celebrate their individual worth. Programs and activities should be challenging and should promote and enhance students’ physical, emotional, intellectual, and social well-being.

Furthermore, we will strive to produce graduates who think critically and independently, adapt to new and changing situations, make appropriate choices, and act in a respectful and responsible manner.

We believe that all employees of Waterville Public Schools should serve as models for students in helping them:

       * Demonstrate the ability to solve problems

       * Communicate clearly and effectively

       * Make responsible decisions as world citizens

       * Use technological resources to enhance their learning

       * Research, analyze, and apply information

       * Behave in a respectful and responsible manner

       * Appreciate world cultures and diversity

Waterville Public Schools is committed to working with parents and the community to provide the necessary leadership, resources, and support to accomplish our mission.

Please join me in congratulating our students who will have their work exhibited at Greenblock + Studio for the month of March. 


Please consider attending the opening reception on Friday, March 1, 2024.


View the attached flyer for a list of students and event information.

WJHS_Youth Art Month 7:8th.pdf

Important Dates to Remember:

Friday, March 1 - Youth Art Month Recognition @ Greenblock + Studios, 3-7 PM

Tuesday, March 5 - Bandorama (Just Band) @ WSHS, 7-8 PM

Monday, March 11 - Thursday, March 14 - Spring Book Fair, Media Center 

Wednesday, March 13 - Late Start K-12, 9:15 AM

Wednesday, March 13 - Biggest/Shortest Strings Concert @ WSHS, 7-8 PM

Friday, March 15 - Staff In-Service, No School

Thursday, March 21 - Chorus Concert @ WSHS, 7-8 PM

Friday, March 29 - 3rd Quarter Ends

Tuesday, April 9 - Thursday, April 11 - Dental Clinic

Monday, April 15 - Patriots Day, No School

Monday, April 15 - Friday, April 19 - Spring Break, No School

Wednesday, May 1 - Principal's Day

Tuesday, May 7 - Teacher Appreciation Day

Thursday, May 9 - Friday, May 10 - Quebec Trip

Monday, May 20 - JH Concert (all ensembles) @ WSHS, 7-8 PM

Friday, May 24 - Staff In-Service, No School

Monday, May 27 - Memorial Day, No School

Thursday, June 6 - Music Concert for Students, TBA

Thursday, June 13 - 4th Quarter Ends

Thursday, June 13 - 1/2 Day, Early Release (last day for students)

School Board Meetings

(Held at WSHS Media Center - All meetings start @ 6:00 PM)

Monday, February 12

Monday, March 11

Monday, April 

Monday, May 13

Monday, June 10

ATTENDANCE MATTERS